You are here: Home


AIS Team

We currently have open postdoc positions. Please send your application to Wolfram Burgard.


13.10.2016 The paper A Probabilistic Approach to Liquid Level Detection in Cups Using an RGB-D Camera by Chau Do, Tobias Schubert and Wolfram Burgard is nominated for the Best Student Paper Award and the Best Application Paper Award at the IEEE/RSJ International Conference on Intelligent Robots and Systems (IROS).
22.07.2016 Tayyab Naseer receives the "Best PhD Student and Best Presentation Award" at the International Computer Vision Summer School (ICVSS).
28.05.2015 The paper Robot, Organize my Shelfes! Tidying up Objects by Predicting User Preferences by Nichola Abdo, Cyrill Stachniss, Luciano Spinello and Wolfram Burgard is nominated for the Best Service Robotics Award at the IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation (ICRA).
22.12.2014 Wolfram Burgard became Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).
01.05.2014 Wolfram Burgard became member of the National Academy of Science Leopoldina.
01.04.2014 Cyrill Stachniss is now a professor for Photogrammetry at the University of Bonn.
01.11.2013 Wolfram Burgard has become Editor in Chief of the Reviewing board of the International Conference on Robotics and Intelligent Systems (ICPRB).
23.10.2013 Jörg Müller receives the Wolfgang-Gentner-Award 2013 for his PhD-Thesis.
05.07.2013 Cyrill Stachniss receives the Computer Science Faculty Teaching Award 2013 of the Faculty of Engineering.
09.05.2013 Cyrill Stachniss receives the IEEE RAS Early Career Award.
09.05.2013 Cyrill Stachniss receives the award for the best Associate Editor of the IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation (ICRA).
09.05.2013 Slawomir Grzonka receives the Best Reviewer Award of the IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation (ICRA).
25.01.2012 Wolfram Burgard becomes a member of the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities.
02.09.2011 Jürgen Sturm receives the Wolfgang-Gentner-Award 2011 for his PhD-Thesis.
14.7.2010 Cyrill Stachniss becomes a Microsoft Research Faculty Fellow.
19.11.2009 Cyrill Stachniss has successfully passed his habilitation.
20.5.2009 The book Robotic Mapping and Exploration by Cyrill Stachniss has been published by Springer.
16.5.2009 Slawomir Grzonka, Giorgio Grisetti, and Wolfram Burgard receive the ICRA 2009 Best Conference Paper Award for their paper entitled Towards a Navigation System for Autonomous Indoor Flying.
04.12.2008 Wolfram Burgard is awarded the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize of the DFG.
01.12.2008 Christian Plagemann succesfully accomplished his Ph.D. defense.
01.05.2008 Patrick Pfaff and Wolfram Burgard will organize the IROS 2008 Workshop on 3D Mapping.
19.11.2008 Jose Neira, Cyrill Stachniss, and Stefan Williams organize the ICRA 2009 Workshop on "Visual Mapping and Navigation in Outdoor Environments".
23.07.2008 Wolfram Burgard becomes ECCAI Fellow.
28.06.2008 Cyrill Stachniss becomes Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Robotics (T-RO).
01.05.2008 Patrick Pfaff and Wolfram Burgard will organize the IROS 2008 Workshop on 3D Mapping.
28.3.2008 Cyrill Stachniss receives the 7th Georges Giralt Award for the best robotics thesis in Europe submitted in 2006.
30.6.2007 Kai Arras is awarded the position of a DFG-funded Junior Research Group Leader. The position has been published with the SFB/TR8.
25.10.2006 Cyrill Stachniss receives the Wolfgang-Gentner-Award 2006 for his PhD-Thesis.
1.10.2006 Wolfram Burgard will be general chair of the conference Robotics - Science and Systems (RSS 2007) and Cyrill Stachniss will be publicity chair and publication chair.
1.10.2006 The research group for autonomous intelligent systems will be organizer of the European Conference on Mobile Robotics (ECMR 2007).
29.11.2005 Dirk Hähnel is awarded the Südwestmetall-Förderpreis 2005 for his PhD-thesis.
26.10.2005 Dirk Hähnel receives the Wolfgang-Gentner-Award 2005 for his PhD-thesis.
19.10.2005 Wolfram Burgard is appointed Distinguished Lecturer of the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society.
01.10.2005 The book Probabilistc Robotics of Sebastian Thrun, Wolfram Burgard and Dieter Fox is published by MIT-Press.
06.08.2005 Cyrill Stachniss, Dirk Hähnel and Wolfram Burgard win the best-paper-award on application for the paper Exploration with Active Loop-Closing for FastSLAM at IROS 2004.

Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
Technische Fakultät
Autonome Intelligente Systeme
Georges-Köhler-Allee 080
D-79110 Freiburg im Breisgau

Benutzerspezifische Werkzeuge